Roland CII

Some shots of another scratchbuilt scale machine I just completed, this one is waiting for its maiden.

     

The Roland CII is one of the most innovative 2 seaters to come out of WWI. While other aircraft of the period were veritable kites with motors. The Roland had all of hallmarks of a much more modern aircraft.

7 comments on “Roland CII

  1. Peter says:

    Hello,
    I just came across your posts on the Roland C.II.
    I am planning on building a 1/8 scale model.
    Did you manage to make a flight worthy model of the plane?

    If so, how does it fly, and what I should watch out for?

    thank you.
    KR.
    Peter

  2. Hey Peter,

    Yes and no is the answer. Yes it did fly, but no, it did not fly well and ended up being in my estimate, a failed project. My main assessment was that it was over heavy for it’s scale. If you are building a larger version, mine was only 30″ span, it should be easier to keep the weight to power ratio good, so overall, watch the weight to keep it down to a minimum, and you should do well. Secondly, the design was built to be a 2 seater, this means weight in the back seat makes a difference in overall balance. I found that to balance mine, I needed the weight a little more aft than I would’ve guessed it to be. Perhaps this was part of the design to compensate for the observer.

    Anyway, I’d love to see how your build goes, keep me posted!

    • Peter says:

      Hello again.
      I am sorry to have kept you waiting.
      I haven’t started building yet, simply because there was (and still is) a lot of work involved with trying to overdraw an old plan from 1950s.
      It’s going to be a classic balsa/ply construction approximately 50″ (130cm) wingspan.
      I am still trying to figure out whether to sheet it with a 0,8mm balsa to obtain the fuselage shape or just try to save weight and let covering film hold it’s shape over spars.

      The original plane was sheeted in veneer multiple layers, so I was thinking of 2 layers balsa 0,6mm or 0,8mm strips.

      I would also like to make a shock absorbing undercarriage, any ideas?
      I would love some input and pointers on CoG, what I should watch out for, etc. I have just used a “rule of thumb” to calculate a third of the combined chord of the wings for the CoG. Should it be more aft?

      Thanks, KR
      Peter

      • Your rule of thumb for CG is a good place to start. Also 50 inches is a good span, and I think you will derive good handling with it, provided you don’t overload it like I did, pushing the envelope too far with too big an engine fuel tank combo for the size. As far as an undercarriage, mine was sprung with a rubber band on each end of the axle, with the axle resting in the crook of a piece of steel wire that was bent to form each side of the undercarriage. If your fairing in the center is thick enough, you can hide the axle inside of it with enough room to move up and down. mine wasnt that thick at scale, and I just put the axle above the fairing. Would love to seem some pics as your progress!

  3. Peter says:

    hi again.
    Thanks for the info. I am actually finishing up with drawing the bits and pieces. The undercarriage is giving me a hard time though. Not only suspension but also how to fix it to the fuselage in a scale manner.
    I don’t suppose you have some pictures of your undercarriage? 🙂
    I’ve made 2 ww1 models so far (D.VII and SE5), both 1/8 without a suspension capable undercarriage, but this one will be the largest of the bunch.

    I am going to have it powered by a brushless motor, which I will choose after I see how much it weighs. Probably a Turnigy G10 or G15 swinging an 11x? cherry propeller. Although a 49-PI Type II .30 Wankel Rotary Engine would a killer 🙂 .

    If all goes well, I’ll have the pieces laser cut in the beginning of next month.

  4. Peter says:

    Hello yet again.

    I was wondering whether you have some pictures of your undercarriage just so that I can see the way you did the suspension?
    Thank you.

    • Hey Peter,

      I responded to this on the main page cause I thought it might help other people and they could benefit from it. Check it out and comment further there. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

